Members

The VCU CoHD invites faculty, researchers and students to join as members. The primary purpose of membership is to provide an infrastructure to support the development of health disparities research. If you are interested in membership, please send your curriculum vitae along with a letter of interest indicating your experience in minority health disparities (if applicable). All application packets should be sent to Ettora Burrell at ettora.burrell@vcuhealth.org.

Membership is currently comprised of the following:

 

Kyungeh An, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Department of Adult Health and Nursing Systems 
kan@vcu.edu

 

Marianne Baernholdt, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Nursing Alumni Endowed Professor
Department of Adult Health and Nursing Systems 
mabaernholdt@vcu.edu

 

Andrew J. Barnes, PhD. 
Associate Professor
Research Associate, Cancer Prevention and 
Control Massey Cancer Center 
Department of Health Behavior and policy 
andrew.barnes@vcuhealth.org

 

Melanie Bean, PhD  
Associate Professor
Co-Director, Healthy Lifestyles Center 
Department of Pediatrics 
Division of Genetics/Endocronology/Metabolism 
melanie.bean@vcuhealth.org

 

Darlene H. Brunzell, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology 
darlene.brunzell@vcuhealth.org

 

Bassam Dahman, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
bassam.dahman@vcuhealth.org

 

Robin Everhart, PhD 
Associate Professor 
Health Psycology 
everhart@vcu.edu

 

Bernard Fuemmeler, PhD, MPH
Professor
Department of Health Behavior and Policy  
bernard.fuemmeler@vcuhealth.org

 

Nao Hagiwara, PhD
Associate Professor 
Health Psychology 
nhagiwara@vcu.edu

 

Pamela Knapp, Ph.D.
Professor
Departments of Anatomy and Neurobiology 
pamela.knapp@vcuhealth.org

 

Alex H. Krist, MD, MPH
Professor 
Co-director, Ambulatory Care 
Outcomes Research Network 
Department of Family Medicine and Population Health 
alexander.krist@vcuhealth.org

 

Jessica G. LaRose, PhD 
Associate Professor 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
jessica.larose@vcuhealth.org

 

John M. Quillin, PhD, MPH, MS 
Assistant Professor 
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics 
john.quillin@vcuhealth.org

 

Vanessa B. Sheppard, PhD 
Professor  
Theresa A. Thomas Memorial Chair 
in Cancer Prevention and Control 
Department of Health and Behavior Policy 
vanessa.sheppard@vcuhealth.org

 

Jerome F. Strauss, MD, PhD 
Professor 
Department of Obstectrics and Gynecology 
jerome.strauss@vcuhealth.org

 

Maria D. Thomson, PhD 
Assistant Professor 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
maria.thomson@vcuhealth.org

 

Marcia Winter, PhD 
Assistant Professor 
Developmental Psychology 
mawinter@vcu.edu