Mentors

Amanda Dickinson, Ph.D.

Department of Biology, Associate Professor
ajdickinson@vcu.edu

Ananda Amstadter, Ph.D.

Department of Psychiatry, Assistant Professor
ananda.amstadter@vcuhealth.org

Andrew Ottens, Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Associate Professor
andrew.ottens@vcuhealth.org

Anthony Faber, Ph.D.

Molecular Biology and Genetics, Assistant Professor
acfaber@vcu.edu

Aron Lichtman, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
aron.lichtman@vcuhealth.org

Barbara Boyan, Ph.D.

College of Engineering, Alice T. and William H. Goodwin Jr. Dean
bboyan@vcu.edu

Candace Johnson, Ph.D., M.P.H., RN

Department of Family and Community Health Nursing, Clinical Assistant Professor
johnsoncm7@vcu.edu

Carlos Escalante, Ph.D.

Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Assistant Professor
carlos.escalante@vcuhealth.org

Charles Chalfant, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Professor
charles.chalfant@vcuhealth.org

Christina Tang, Ph.D.

Department of Chemical and Life Sciences Engineering, Assistant Professor
ctang2@vcu.edu

Christopher Lemmon, Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor
clemmon@vcu.edu

Chuck Harrell, Ph.D.

Department of Pathology, Assistant Professor
joshua.harrell@vcuhealth.org

Cynthia Cornelissen, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
cynthia.cornelissen@vcuhealth.org

Daniel Conway, Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Assistant Professor
dconway@vcu.edu

Daniel Conrad, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
daniel.conrad@vcuhealth.org

David Gewirtz, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
david.gewirtz@vcuhealth.org

Devanand Sarkar, M.B.B.S., Ph.D.

Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, Professor
devanand.sakar@vcuhealth.org

Diane Pawluk, Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor
dtpawluk@vcu.edu

Dong Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Associate Professor
dong.sun@vcuhealth.org

Fadi Salloum, Ph.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiology, Associate Professor
fadi.salloum@vcuhealth.org

Fantasy Lozada, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology, Assistant Professor
ftlozada@vcu.edu

Gail Christie, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
gail.christie@vcuhealth.org

Gordon Ginder, M.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology and Oncology Director, Massey Cancer Center Professor
gdginder@vcu.edu

Gregory Buck, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
gregory.buck@vcuhealth.org

Gretchen Neigh (McCandless), Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Associate Professor
gretchen.mccandless@vcuhealth.org

Guy Cabral, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
guy.cabral@vcuhealth.org

Hamid Akbarali, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
hamid.akbarali@vcuhealth.org

Heather Lucas, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, Assistant Professor
hrlucas@vcu.edu

Hu Yang, Ph.D.

Department of Chemical and Life Science Engineering, Qimonda Professor
hyang2@vcu.edu

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.

Department of Psychiatry, Associate Professor
jasmin.vassileva@vcuhealth.org

Jason Carlyon, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
jason.carlyon@vcuhealth.org

Jason Reed, Ph.D.

Department of Physics, Assistant Professor
jcreed@vcu.edu

Javier Gonzalez-Maeso, Ph.D.

Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Associate Professor
javier.maeso@vcuhealth.org

Jeffrey Dupree, MS, Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Associate Professor
jeffrey.dupree@vcuhealth.org

Jerome Strauss, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Professor
jerome.strauss@vcuhealth.org

Jill Bettinger, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Associate Professor
Jill.bettinger@vcuhealth.org

John Grider, Ph.D.

Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Professor
john.grider@vcuhealth.org

John Ryan, Ph.D.

Department of Biology, Professor
jjryan@vcu.edu

Joseph Landry, Ph.D.

Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, Assistant Professor
joseph.landry@vcuhealth.org

Joyce Lloyd, Ph.D.

Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, Professor
joyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.org

Julio Alvarez, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, Associate Professor
jcalvarez2@vcu.edu

Katherine Nicholson, Ph.D., D.V.M.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Assistant Professor
katherine.nicholson@vcuhealth.org

Kimberly Jefferson, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Associate Professor
kimberly.jefferson@vcuhealth.org

Kurt Hauser, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
kurt.hauser@vcuhealth.org

Larisa Litovchick, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Associate Professor
larisa.litovchick@vcuhealth.org

Laura Sim-Selley, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
laura.sim-selley@vcuhealth.org

Linda Phillips, Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Professor
linda.phillips@vcuhealth.org

Imad Damaj, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor
m.damaj@vcuhealth.org

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D.

Department of Health Behavior and Policy, Associate Professor
maghboeba.mosavel@vcuhealth.org

Martin Safo, Ph.D.

Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Professor
msafo@vcu.edu

Montserrat Samso, Ph.D.

Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Associate Professor
montserrat.samso@vcuhealth.org

Nicholas Farrell, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, Professor
npfarrell@vcu.edu

Pamela Knapp, Ph.D.

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Professor
pamela.knapp@vcuhealth.org

Paul Wetzel, Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor
pawetzel@vcu.edu

Paul Fisher, M.P.H., Ph.D.

Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, Professor
paul.fisher@vcuhealth.org

Paul Dent, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Professor
paul.dent@vcuhealth.org

Phillip Hylemon, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
phillip.hylemon@vcuhealth.org

Pin-Lan Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology,
Professor and Vice-Chair
pin-lan.li@vcuhealth.org

Rakesh Kureja, Ph.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Professor
rakesh.kukreja@vcuhealth.org

Rebecca Heise, Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor
rlheise@vcu.edu

Rene Olivares-Navarrete, D.D.D., Ph.D.

Department of Biomedical Engineering, Assistant Professor
ronavarrete@vcu.edu

Richard Marconi, Ph.D.

Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor
richard.marconi@vcuhealth.org

Rima Franklin, Ph.D.

Department of Biology, Associate Professor
rbfranklin@vcu.edu

Rosalie Corona, Ph.D.

Department of Psychology, Professor
racorona@vcu.edu

Esra Sahingur, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.

Department of Periodontics, Professor
ssahingur@vcu.edu

Patrick Nana-Sinkam, M.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Professor
patrick.nana-sinkam@vcuhealth.org

Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Professor and Chair
sarah.spiegel@vcuhealth.org

Scott Gronert, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, Professor
sgronert@vcu.edu

Scott Neubauer, Ph.D.

Department of Biology, Associate Professor
sneubauer@vcu.edu

Steven Grant, M.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care, Professor
steven.grant@vcuhealth.org

Steven Grossman, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care, Professor
steven.grossman@vcuhealth.org

Todd Kitten, Ph.D.

Molecular Biology and Genetics, Professor
tkitten@vcu.edu

Tomasz Kordula, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Professor
tomasz.kordula@vcuhealth.org

Umesh Desai, Ph.D.

Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Professor and Chairman
urdesai@vcu.edu

William Dewey, Ph.D.

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Professor and Chair
william.dewey@vcuhealth.org

Xianjun (Frank) Fang, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Associate Professor
xianjun.fang@vcuhealth.org

Yan Zhang, Ph.D.

Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Professor
yzhang2@vcu.edu

Zheng Fu, Ph.D.

Department of Human and Molecular Genetics, Associate Professor
zheng.fu@vcuhealth.org